Ana Taeka Te Atua - Karikorikoan Tataro ao Tabureti man Korobokin te Bahá'í
Te Auti (Home) Ae Rimoa (Previous) Ae Kan Riki (Next)

About Kiribati and the Bahá'í Faith

Map of Kiribati

Kiribati, pronounced "ki-ri-bas", is a mid-Pacific island nation that includes three main island groups:  the Gilberts, the Phoenix Islands and the Line Islands.  Kiribati encompasses more than two million square miles of ocean.  The official languages are English and Kiribati.  A growing number of Kiribatese have embraced the Bahá'í Faith.

The Bahá'í Faith is practiced throughout the world today by millions of believers of all races, cultures and economic backgrounds.  Bahá'ís believe in one God who communicates with His creatures by means of messengers, or Manifestations of God.  Some of these Manifestations include Moses, Jesus, Mohammed, Zoroaster and Buddha.  In our time, the two Bahá'í Manifestations include The Báb (or "Gate") and Bahá'u'lláh ("The Glory of God", pronounced ba-ha-oo-la).

Bahá'ís believe in one God, in the elimination of all forms of prejudice and intolerance, and in the basic agreement of science and religion.  Bahá'ís encourage charity and hospitality, education, and unity.  There are no Bahá'í clergy.  An excellent introduction to the faith is available at The Bahá'í World.

ANA TAEKA TE ATUA The prayers on this site were transcribed from ANA TAEKA TE ATUA (Words of God) - Prayers and Tablets from the Bahá'í Writings compiled by the Universal House of Justice and translated into Krirbati.  Copyright © 1989 Bahá'í Publishing Trust P.O. Box 2007, Suva, Fiji. ISBN 982-204-021-0.  Copies are available from Bahá'í Booksource International.

Photographs of the South Pacific are Copyright © Corbis Images.

The Bahá'í Prayers website is sponsored by the Local Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá'ís of Shoreline, Washington (USA) as a celebration of the beauty of the Bahá'í scriptures.

I hope that you enjoy the site.  With warmest regards,

Michael Micheletti